Is Anyone Out There (Who Wants to Read my Blog)?!

Creating buzz about a blog is no easy job, as evident by my amount of readers (sigh…). With nearly 100 million blogs currently in existence and growing, how can I possibly break through the clutter and get my voice heard?! So, my plan is to launch a little experiment to test three methods that I believe will create some much needed buzz about my blog.

1. Utilize social media tools to encourage readers to view my blog. There are the old standbys like Twitter, Facebook, and LinkedIn that I can link to my site, but as new platforms emerge, it is imperative to stay up-to-date. I plan to register my blog with sites like Digg, StumbleUpon, and Reddit, which I think could expose it to new readers. Also, another thing to consider is maximizing search engine optimization so that people can actually find my site when they search for information on for emerging media.

2. Contact successful bloggers with an already established following and ask to become a guest blogger on their site. Definitely need to do my research before making this attempt. For a blog focused on Emerging Media, I could contact the big guys- Seth Godin (Seth Godin’s Blog), Guy Kawasaki (How to Change the World), or Robin Good (Professional Online Publishing).

3. Offline promotion is another means by which I can promote my blog. I go to plenty of networking events, and it’s a perfect opportunity to tell friends and colleagues about my little project. At least I will know who my readers are. I could create business cards to distribute with my blog’s URL or at the very least include a link to my blog in my email signature.

I will keep you updated on the status of these methods and see if any one seems to be more effective than another!
N

This entry was posted in Uncategorized and tagged , , , , , . Bookmark the permalink.

2 Responses to Is Anyone Out There (Who Wants to Read my Blog)?!

  1. Robin Good says:

    Hi, I am listening… and I look forward to hear from you!

Leave a comment